At home!

After a long period of time, without taking any pictures of nature, finally I got a chance to escape from the world and spend a few hours alone in the Hortobágyi Puszta.

On June 15 there was a lunar eclipse, and I was lucky because the sky was perfectly clear above the Puszta. Originally I was going to take pictures of a White Stork nest and the moon, but for some reason the birds did not use the nest this year. (as I remember they have been using it for at least 15 years). So I needed to get to the “B” plan which did not work either:) There was no well near by the stork nest, but finally I saw the plan “C”,  a small herd of  Hungarian Grey Cattle. After making a deal with the herd (we call them Gulash=gulyás, and the famous soup is named after these people) I climbed the electric fence and started to do some experiences with the composition. In less than 5 minutes, I was covered by giant mosquitoes. Luckily I had  a mosquito spray in my fishing box in the car which just saved my life. By the way this spray is from Bence Mate (The BBC Naturephotographer of the Year 1010) and I took it accidently when I visited him a few years ago. Sorry Bence:)

Let’s finish this little intermezzo and get back to the topic. A few years ago I have seen a lunar eclipse in the states, but the Moon was on the top of the sky. This time in Hungary the Moon was on the horizon and its red color made it even more exciting to take pictures of. The cattle were very relaxed and did not care about me, so i could get some nice shot.

On the way back home, I saw a gas-park object with a high performance light. There are only pipes and gas related things and to avoid robbery they set up this light, which I think makes it easier for the robbers to steel in the middle of nowhere:) All in all the lamps attracted billions of mosquitoes and other bugs and they all together made an exciting theme to photograph.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

